Weekends at Work

Science. It doesn’t take a break and neither should you.

But that isn’t really true, is it? With all good things, there comes a time where you need to step back, take a breath, smell the roses and then dive back in. I haven’t posted in a while. (I haven’t forgotten you!) I’ve been busy with schoolwork (or, well, mostly reading papers takes up the most time, as well as studying for the occasional quiz) and fencing (which has been my go-to take a break activity these past few weeks). I haven’t had as much time to read as I could wish. Last weekend, I adventured to Madison, WI and saw the new buildings at Epic, which was pretty cool.

So. Lab. I’ve been enjoying my work with the ECF sigma factors a lot. My last few days have been all about Western blots. Needless to say, I went from having done one blot in the last year… to having done at least five in the last week. Right now, I’m in lab prepping samples for next week. I love the collaborative/collegiate atmosphere of being in lab, but I also treasure the times I can just be alone at my bench and listen to music while working. 

Classes have been exciting. I enjoy learning more of the fundamentals of genetics. I do get my ego deflated a lot when others score perfectly on exams and I’m still missing one or two questions. Sigh. But compared to how I did at Mudd, I really shouldn’t complain. Grr.

I’m starting to work on my application to the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship… this is difficult writing, so naturally I’d rather write a blog post. The difficulty lies in the broader impacts aspect of the essays and proposals. I’m glad I’ve been forced into thinking about this in the past, thanks to my undergrad college’s mission statement:

Harvey Mudd College seeks to educate engineers, scientists, and mathematicians well versed in all of these areas and in the humanities and the social sciences so that they may assume leadership in their fields with a clear understanding of the impact of their work on society.

– http://www.hmc.edu/about1/mission.html

Nevertheless, translating that into a personal statement of my involvement in society is harder than it seems. ARgh!

And finally, the fun things. Fencing has been awesome. I’m quite terrible at this point, but hopefully I’ll improve. I started crocheting again last night and I want to learn how to knit. Mostly, there’s a fencing tournament about 8 hours away, and I feel like knitting might be a good way to wile the time away. Either knitting or working on that application. As for my other known interest, perfumes, I’ve been busy sniffing! I’ll post a few reviews of the samples I’ve been sent in a little bit!

Now back to reading. 

Leave a Reply

