updates from the past!

edit: this was a draft i never published… i’ll be back soon!

 

It’s been a long time since I’ve updated. Some quick updates on life as a first year grad student: Westerns. All the time. For those of you that are not familiar with the Western blot, it’s basically a way to measure the amount of protein produced in a cell and how large it is. The method is fairly straightforward: you harvest cells and lyse them, so that the proteins are no longer enclosed in the cell, run them on a gel that separates them by size using gel electrophoresis, transfer the proteins from the gel to the membrane, and eventually use antibodies to look at specific proteins. It’s a simple process, but an all day process. I’ve been trying to get figures to finish a paper that the lab I’m rotating in is putting out and it’s been a rather dreary three weeks…

I’ve also been working on a proposal for an NSF fellowship. The government closed for a few weeks… and I was sort of hoping the deadline would be postponed, but alas ’twas not to be. I am very excited about the research I am proposing, but I am less excited about my personal statement.

I’ve also been teaching myself how to knit. Apparently, trying to make a hufflepuff scarf with stockinette stitch is a bad idea, because it curls like crazy. But at least now I know how to knit!

Leave a Reply

